News - Awards Evening

photoOn Tuesday 17 December 2013, Westwood College held its annual Awards Evening to celebrate the excellent progress made by students who completed courses in 2013.

Mandy Bennett, the Chair of Governors, welcomed a packed audience of ex-students, their families and their teachers to the event and praised their efforts and achievements. She highlighted the special nature of the support and working relationships that have to come together to create the high levels of success enjoyed by students at Westwood.

The Headteacher, Richard Hey, welcomed the guest speaker, Professor Nigel Ratcliffe, who is Professor of Pharmacy and Head of School at Keele University. He is also Chair of the Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent NHS Partnership Trust. Professor Ratcliffe was formerly Global Vice President of Strategic Partnering and Business Development at AstraZeneca Pharmaceuticals and an ex-student of Leek High School.  Mr Hey thanked Professor Ratcliffe for agreeing to speak at the event.

Mr Hey then gave an overview of the year, setting the achievements of the College in the context of both local and national events. With some of the strongest A level results in many years, 57% of the grades achieved were either A*, A or B and in Physics, History and RE it was an outstanding 100%. With the other sciences and Maths also performing strongly (80% A*, A or B) many students were able to progress to high tariff Higher Education courses in related fields. At a time when competition for Higher Education places at top universities is increasingly intense, the vast majority of Westwood students enjoyed a smooth progression on to a course of their choice, whatever the discipline. He told the students they had every right to be very proud of their accomplishments.

Following the theme of Science and Maths, there was then a presentation given by two of the current generation of Westwood students. Emily Woodcock and Rhys John outlined some of their aspirations and experiences of their time in the Westwood Sixth and thanked their teachers for the enthusiasm, expertise and support they have shown.

Professor Ratcliffe then presented the certificates to the young people who had achieved such good examination results in the summer. Individual subject awards were presented and then four overall awards;

Sixth Form Student of the Year:   Ben Richards

Governors’ Academic Achievement Award:  Adam Arshad

Governors’ Progress Award:   Helena Hargreaves and Marnie Redfern

The Jane Barr Memorial Award for Art and Textiles: Grace Aldridge

In his address Professor Ratcliffe too praised the efforts of all of the school community. He was pleased to see such the college making such a positive contribution to the outcomes for young people in Leek. Having spent many years in a truly global organisation he was keen to point out the breadth and scope of the opportunities available to talented and well educated people. He praised the students for their successes and encouraged them not to limit their aspirations.

In summary, Mr Hey echoed Professor Ratcliffe’s sentiments and reflected on the College’s strong position to prepare young people for the opportunities and challenges they face. He praised the staff, students and their parents for their efforts and looked forward to celebrating their future successes.

Back to news. This entry was posted in General, Sixth Form. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.