News - Westwood boys Under 16 County Hockey team are crowned County Champions

EH and JPWith a full 16 man squad, Westwood boys were drawn against Leek High in the initial match of the Under 16 County Hockey tournament.  Having a committed start, Westwood seemed the stronger side, however, armed with a resilient team, Leek High embarked on a counter attack. Westwood’s defense retaliated and swept away any potential threat.  Following several chances, Westwood’s Joe Priestman scored an excellent goal and steadier build up play kept Leek High at bay, Kieran Smith striking a powerful shot which resulted in a Westwood 2-0 scoreline.

As a private school, Westwood felt slightly intimidated when told their opponents  were Denstone College.  However, as the game progressed through the first half, the team grew in confidence and managed a 2-0 lead.  Into the second half, Westwood displayed sharp strategic tactics which culminated in two further Priestman goals from wings raising the final score to 4-0.

St. Mary’s Grammar School from Walsall had beaten Denstone 7-0 and, therefore, proved a seemingly tough challenge.  Denstone produced a highly athletic side which Westwood had to conquer to advance to the final.  With both sides serving attacks, Westwood’s neat passing and tidy skill gave a 1-0 lead.  However, poor Westwood defending resulted in a short corner through which the opposition seized an equaliser.  Determined and focused, Westwood fought hard against St. Mary’s fast paced attack.  Eventually, Westwood managed a deserved goal through Priestman which secured a win subsequently progressing the team to the regional final of the tournament.CC

The regional finals were conducted on February 04.  Westwood put up a determined and admirable fight, losing to the eventual winners, Trent College, who are also National Champions.

The team consisted of Callum Bell, Joe Priestman, Dan White, Adam Cook, Elliot Hammonds, Joe Cummins, Dexter Hammonds, Kieran Smith, Will Graham, Dan Lomax, James Aberley, Alex Gilligan, Oliver Watson, Connor Ball, Tom Povey and Charlie Thackstone.

Congratulations to the team for their commitment, enthusiasm and effort.




Back to news. This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.